Palm Brewing

Bruges, Belgium


DE GOUDEN BOOM is situated in the historic centre of the city of Bruges, where Jan Hugheins was brewing beer as early as 1455. For generations the business alternated between a brewery and a distillery. In 1872, Jules Vanneste bought the building which, at that time, still housed the ‘t Hamerken distillery. In 1889, he took the step of definitively converting the distillery into a brewery. Soon, ‘t Hamerken top-fermentation beers became a household name in the Bruges area. In 1983, the brewery was dubbed DE GOUDEN BOOM. This name harks back to the marriage of Margaret of York to Charles the Bold in 1468, when the winner of the knights’ tournament was presented with a Golden Tree (“Gouden Boom”), the emblem of the city of Bruges, as a trophy.

The secret of the historic BRUGGE Tripel city beer and the STEENBRUGGE abbey beers, brewed by DE GOUDEN BOOM, is the “gruut” blend of herbs and spices used to enrich them. The “Gruuthuse” in Bruges, which can still be visited as a museum, maintained a monopoly on the sale of “gruut” until late into the century.



Contact us below if you have any questions.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.